Since there was some controversy regarding the hanging basket and the 2 Meter rule being used to penalize shots that landed on top of the basket, I sought out a ruling. This is a direct quote from Chuck Kennedy at PDGA.
"Bogus ruling. TD would need waiver from the PDGA Tour Manager for that call since it goes against the intent of the rule. As was pointed out above, the 2-meters should be measured above the highest point in the basket that a disc can hole out. And since that is not really clear, it makes even having the 2-meter rule over the basket inappropriate. Now what the TD could have done to get the same effect without needing a waiver is simply stating that landing on top of the target was OB including when the disc is partly projecting past the edge. But if OB on that target, why not every target? Let's penalize a bad shot that hasn't holed out on the target even more?"
My argument, which I believe has been validated, was and still is that the bottom of the basket is considered part of the playing surface. Since the bottom of the basket is still in play, then you technically would have to go 2 meters above that point. If it wasn't, then holing out would be impossible on the hole because the bottom of the basket is higher than 2-meters.
Luckily, I don't believe anyone was affected. If someone had been, I believe they could have had a legitimate excuse for appeal. (I'm assuming a PDGA waiver was not obtained since there was no mention of it.)
I'm not really griping at anyone in particular. I'm really just trying to educate and inform you in case a situation were to arise.
If you wish to see the entire thread on dgcoursereview, here is the link: http://www.dgcoursereview.com/forums...ad.php?t=41769
BTW, I want to say that I really had doubts about the hanging basket. But when I saw it, I was amazed. You guys did awesome! I'm already going to start working on getting one put in on hole 1 at Henderson.