Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 34

Thread: Hanging basket on hole #1!

      
  1. #11
    LDGC Public Relations
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Highlands
    Posts
    1,893

    Default

    i like it - good job buffalo chips

    all this talk of hitting the stairs on your drive - whatever - just means you threw a good shot - no real benefit

    i dont think there should be any ob around the basket, it wouldnt fit with the flow of the course (there is no OB at buffalo, other then the typical water, property lines, roads, and paths)

    if you havent checked it out - course looks great - terry, shawn, jim, and the rest of the chips have done a great job on basket placements between the new hanging 1 and the raised platform on 9 - good stuff

  2. #12
    Senior Member MarcusGresham's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Corydon, IN
    Posts
    817

    Default

    I heard next year Terry wants to put the #6 basket on an island in the middle of an alligator infested pond.
    "That's what she said."----Michael Scott

  3. #13
    Senior Member Daniel's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    904

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by MarcusGresham View Post
    I just played it this morning and it's saaa-weeeet. Honestly, if you hit those stairs you might bounce out to be better parked but you could just as easily end up underneath it with a really difficult shot--bottom line, the stairs will giveth and the stairs will taketh away. To be honest if you get to where they are you probably wouldn't have enough velocity on your disc to go screaming past by much anyway (unless you seriously over-threw the hole and only the guys with really big arms---who tend to know when to let off anyway,) so I don't see it making much of an issue.
    When I played it, I had a bit of a time keeping the power down and not blowing past it. It's not hard to throw past that hole, which ever arrangement it's in. (Yes, I had some serious power...key term being *had*...)

    As it was, my original question was just my first thought in seeing it. It's a cool thing, just curious to see if there would be an "advantage" by hitting and stopping the disc under or close to the basket. If I ever get up there again, I'll see if I can try and hit the ladder to prove my point...hee hee hee!
    Daniel

    My putter still doinks harder than yours!

  4. #14
    Senior Member Terry Glass's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Striving @ Buffalo Trace Park
    Posts
    213

    Default

    Good impute guys. The question at hand is should we make under the stairs OB? Sounds like the general consensus is no. What if someone lands under the stairs in tournament play? Do you play your lie from directly above from the step? As far as hitting the stairs for an advantage; good luck. It could be as hard as getting an ace. If you hit wood at that velocity, it could go anywhere. You call it. We'll make it happen.
    Last edited by Terry Glass; 07-20-2011 at 09:12 PM.
    “Try not to become a man of success but rather try to become a man of value.”

    Albert Einstein

  5. #15
    Senior Member MarcusGresham's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Corydon, IN
    Posts
    817

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Daniel View Post
    When I played it, I had a bit of a time keeping the power down and not blowing past it. It's not hard to throw past that hole, which ever arrangement it's in. (Yes, I had some serious power...key term being *had*...)

    As it was, my original question was just my first thought in seeing it. It's a cool thing, just curious to see if there would be an "advantage" by hitting and stopping the disc under or close to the basket. If I ever get up there again, I'll see if I can try and hit the ladder to prove my point...hee hee hee!
    Show Off!
    "That's what she said."----Michael Scott

  6. #16
    Senior Member MarcusGresham's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Corydon, IN
    Posts
    817

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Terry Glass View Post
    Good impute guys. The question at hand is should we make under the stairs OB? Sounds like the general consensus is no. What if someone lands under the stairs in tournament play? Do you play your lie from directly above from the step? As far as hitting the stairs for an advantage; good luck. It could be as hard as getting an ace. If you hit wood at that velocity, it could go anywhere. You call it. We'll make it happen.
    I agree with Martin that I don't know if it should be OB (especially when you consider the majority of people who land under them will do so on a putt,) but I think if you're under it that's where you play it. Like I said earlier, the stairs will giveth and the stairs will taketh away.
    "That's what she said."----Michael Scott

  7. #17
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Posts
    420

    Default

    Make it casual. Player plays behind the steps without penalty or can play from the steps. Rule of verticality says player can shoot from anywhere on a vertical plane as long as they have a supporting point.

  8. #18
    Buffalo Chip
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    Greenville, IN
    Posts
    632

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by jobwilson82 View Post
    Make it casual. Player plays behind the steps without penalty or can play from the steps. Rule of verticality says player can shoot from anywhere on a vertical plane as long as they have a supporting point.
    I concur.

  9. #19
    Senior Member Daniel's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    904

    Default

    Yeah, casual. Is the rule of verticality still in play? If that was the case, you would be able to play it from the steps (assuming you were under it).
    Daniel

    My putter still doinks harder than yours!

  10. #20
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Posts
    112

    Post

    When I played it, I had a bit of a time keeping the power down and not blowing past it. It's not hard to throw past that hole, which ever arrangement it's in. (Yes, I had some serious power...key term being *had*...)

    As it was, my original question was just my first thought in seeing it. It's a cool thing, just curious to see if there would be an "advantage" by hitting and stopping the disc under or close to the basket. If I ever get up there again, I'll see if I can try and hit the ladder to prove my point...hee hee hee
    Daniel, I hope you start feeling better so you can come play.

    I like the basket. It makes hole one more interesting.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •