Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: New to this...

Default New to this...

I'm just beginning my sojourn into the world of disc golf, and i have a few questions.

1). as far as beginners go, what is the best way to go as far as discs?

2). Does it cost money to play at the public parks around Louisville?

3). How often are discs lost?

4). my interest in this sport comes from ultimate, (i have played quite a bit in college...) are the throwing styles similar?

Much Thanks!

- pwpenick

I'd venture to say most of us began (or at least several of us,) with a 3-pack from Dick's Sporting goods. They run about $25, and you get a driver, a mid-range, and a putter. Save that $25 and go out to Derby City Discs on Bluelick Road. Have Damon help you select beginner discs, and feel free to get used ones---really, you actually want "beaten in" discs because you'll have a truer flight, plus, you'll probably get them for $5-$8 a piece.

Some courses in the area do charge (Fun Farm in Lanesville is $5, Buffalo Trace in Palmyra is $3--although you can park in the lot at the back end of the park and it's free to walk in, Otter Creek is about $5 to get in I believe,) but most courses--both in Louisville, Seviren Lang at Garry Cavan Park in Edwardsville, Freeman Lake in E-town, Meade-Olin in Brandenburg, Muldraugh, Radcliff, I can't think of any more local at this point---are free.

As for similarity to ultimate, I couldn't answer that one because it didn't exist when I would have been young enough to play it (or if it did I didn't know about it,) but I bet Martin Young will answer this at some point on here, and he is/was really good at both sports.
    "That's what she said."----Michael Scott

Hi there and welcome to the sport. As far as discs go, I'd stick with understable discs like Leopards, Roadrunners, Archangels, Sidewinders in lighter weights (150-169g).