Thread: A Brief Interview with Kevin Rarick (the KY State Rep.)

Hybrid View

Default A Brief Interview with Kevin Rarick (the KY State Rep.)

How did you get your start in disc golf?

I started playing with my family back in 1994 when we lived in Nicholasville KY. We (my parents and younger brother) would go out to Shilito park quite often with my aunt and uncle. I was six years old at the time.

How long have you played? How long have you played professionally?

I've played roughly 15 years off and on. When I got my drivers license I wanted an excuse to drive... Disc golf was the first thing I did, and I've played pretty steady since. I started competing professionally in 2006. That is the same year Gateway started sponsoring me. I had no use for the plastic that I was winning in the AM devision, so I just decided to start playing open.

Which courses do you play the most in Bowling Green?

I've probably played Kereiakes and Lovers Ln. the most. Lately I've been going to White park and the Riverview course (on the ball golf course at Hobson) more than anything. I love to get out and play GOLF.

Who's been the biggest inspiration in your game?

I started playing with Shawn Sinclair quite a bit when him and Juliana moved to Bowling Green. He's influenced my game more than anyone. We've never really done lessons or anything like that, I've just learned so much by watching him.

When you were coming to the Kentucky State Championships did you ever imagine going home with the title of State Representative?

Absolutely! If you don't believe it, you don't stand a chance. I'd worked really hard leading up to that one. I've been super busy with school this semester and haven't really had the chance to get out and play much. But, I've got a huge field by where I'm living now and I've been going out there and throwing in my free time. I've also been working on putting quite a bit. Hard work always pays off.