PDA

View Full Version : Any beginner tips?

MBThompson502
04-07-2011, 02:08 AM
Hey everyone. I'm completely new to disc golf. I played it once and now I'm addicted. I completely understand its a game of finesse and takes a lot of practice, of which I plan on putting in. I was wanting to know if anyone has any tips that will put me on the right track and give me a firm base from which to advance? Every little bit will help and I appreciate any advice.

Thanx!!

weeman
04-07-2011, 08:22 AM
Welcome to the game. My advice would be to throw lighter weight plastic (less than 170g) and stick to only a couple models, maybe one driver, one mid range, one putter until you feel really confident in each of those discs. You should also check out the local disc golf store, Derby City Disc at 9310 Blue Lick Road in Louisville. Damon, the owner, can point you in the right direction and provide a lot of helpful tips to get started in the right direction. Good luck!

MarcusGresham
04-07-2011, 08:35 AM
Keep your disc as parallel to the ground as possible to get your maximum distance. If you can learn to throw level (and I'm not one to watch to learn how to do it,) you'll start to pick up more ideas from there.

Also, try to play in leagues because you'll get paired with guys who are really good and more than willing to give you pointers when they watch you.

Adam
04-07-2011, 08:53 AM
Sounds like you caught the disc golf bug pretty bad. Weeman had excellent advice about disc selection and that's a really important tip. There's hundreds of discs to choose from for a wide range of skill levels, but new players go out and buy lots of discs thinking a disc will make them a better players when that's not the case.

Here's a link (http://www.dgcoursereview.com/forums/showthread.php?t=26165) with lots of technique related articles and videos. That's probably the best place to start.

Good luck and I hope to see you on the course!

captain plastic
04-07-2011, 09:07 AM
Enjoy yourself mostly.